Oscar Winners!

90th Oscars

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter to keep up to date!

The 90th Academy Awards ceremony took place during the night and this year, there was no controversy and it was clear who the winners were at all times, pretty standard for a prestigious ceremony you’d think. The Shape of Water was the big winner of the night with Best Picture and Best Director but where there any comic book winners?

The 2 main categories I was keeping an eye on were VFX and Sound Editing with Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 and Star Wars Last Jedi being nominated for each respectively. Unfortunately neither won but Blade Runner 2047 and Dunkirk are worthy winners of those categories in their own right.

Speaking of Blade Runner 2047, it was great to see Roger Deakins win Best Cinematography finally! Deakins had been nominated 13 (!) times and lost every single time but 2018 was his year. It’s clear to see why as well as Blade Runner 2049 had some stunning visuals and Deakins deserves it for his previous work as well, Skyfall being my personal favourite.

We also had our very own Commissioner Gordon win Best Actor, albeit not for playing Gordon but for playing Churchill. Gary Oldman is an actor who does not know how to put a bad performance in. It’s shocking he has never won an Oscar before this but last night, he finally got his golden statue and it was very much due.

There is still a very clear divide between the Oscars and comic book films but hopefully that can change in the next couple of years. For now, Congrats to all the winners and nominees!


Full list of Winners

Best Picture

Call Me By Your Name


Get Out

Lady Bird

The Post

The Shape of Water

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Darkest Hour

Phantom Thread

Actor in a Leading Role

Timothée Chalamet (Call Me By Your Name)

Daniel Day-Lewis (Phantom Thread)

Denzel Washington (Roman Israel, Esq.)

Daniel Kaluuya (Get Out)

Gary Oldman (Darkest Hour)

Actress in a Leading Role

Sally Hawkins (The Shape of Water)

Frances McDormand (Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri)

Margot Robbie (I, Tonya)

Saoirse Ronan (Lady Bird)

Meryl Streep (The Post)

Actress in a Supporting Role

Allison Janney (I, Tonya)

Mary J. Blige (Mudbound)

Laurie Metcalf (Lady Bird)

Octavia Spencer (The Shape of Water)

Lesley Manville (Phantom Thread)

Actor in a Supporting Role

Willem Dafoe (The Florida Project)

Woody Harrelson (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)

Richard Jenkins (The Shape of Water)

Sam Rockwell (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)

Christopher Plummer, All the Money in the World

Best Director

Guillermo del Toro (The Shape of Water)

Greta Gerwig (Lady Bird)

Christopher Nolan (Dunkirk)

Jordan Peele (Get Out)

Paul Thomas Anderson (Phantom Thread)

Foreign Language Film

A Fantastic Woman (Chile)

Loveless (Russia)

The Square (Sweden)

The Insult (Lebanon)

On Body and Soul (Hungary)

Documentary Short Subject

Heroin(e), A Netflix Original Documentary

Edith+Eddie, Heart is Red and Kartemquin Films

Heaven Is a Traffic Jam on the 405, Stiefel & Co.

Knife Skills, TFL Films

Traffic Stop, Q-Ball Productions

Documentary Feature


Faces Places

Abacus: Small Enough to Jail

Last Men in Aleppo

Strong Island

Original Song

The Mystery of Love from Call My By Your Name

Remember me from Coco

Stand Up for Something from Marshall

This Is Me from The Greatest Showman

Mighty River from Mudbound

Animated Feature Film

The Breadwinner


Loving Vincent

The Boss Baby


Adapted Screenplay

Scott Frank and James Mangold (Logan)

James Ivory (Call Me By Your Name) 

Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber (The Disaster Artist)

Aaron Sorkin (Molly’s Game)

Virgil Williams and Dee Rees (Mudbound)

Original Screenplay

Guillermo del Toro, Vanessa Taylor
(The Shape of Water)

Greta Gerwig (Lady Bird)

Martin McDonagh
(Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)

Kumail Nanjiani and Emily V. Gordon (The Big Sick)

Jordan Peele (Get Out)

Sound Mixing

Baby Driver

Blade Runner 2049


The Shape of Water

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Film Editing

Jon Gregory (Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri)

Paul Machliss (Baby Driver)

Lee Smith (Dunkirk)

Sidney Wolinsky (The Shape of Water)

I, Tonya

Live Action Short Film

My Nephew Emmett, Kevin Wilson, Jr., director (New York University)

The Silent Child, Chris Overton, director, and Rachel Shenton, writer (Slick Films)

Watu Wote/All of Us, Katja Benrath, director (Hamburg Media School)

The Eleven O’Clock, Derin Seale, director (FINCH)

DeKalb Elementary, Reed Van Dyk, director (UCLA)

Makeup and Hairstyling

Darkest Hour


Victoria & Abdul

Visual Effects

Richard Bain, Ben Morris, Michael Mulholland, Chris Corbould (Star Wars: The Last Jedi)

Richard Clegg, Paul Lambert, Viktor Muller, John Nelson (Blade Runner 2049)

Matthew Crnich, Ray McMaster, Kevin Andrew Smith, Doug Spilatro, Christopher Townsend (Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2)

Joe Leterri, Dan Lemmon, Eric Winquist, Dan Cervin (War for the Planet of the Apes)

Kong: Skull Island

Original Score

Carter Burwell (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)

Alexandre Desplat (The Shape of Water)

Jonny Greenwood (Phantom Thread)

John Williams (Star Wars: The Last Jedi)

Hans Zimmer (Dunkirk)

Animated Short Film

Dear Basketball (Director: Glen Keane, Glen Keane Productions)

Garden Party (Director: Victor Caire and Gabriel Grapperon, MOPA)

In a Heartbeat (Director: Esteban Bravo and Beth David, Ringling College of Art and Design)

Lou (Director: Dave Mullins, Pixar Animation Studios)

Negative Space (Director, Max Porter and Ru Kuwahata, Ikki Films)

Revolting Rhymes (Director: Jakob Schuh and Jan Lachauer, Magic Light Pictures)

Sound Editing

Glen Gauthier (The Shape of Water)

Richard King (Dunkirk)

Blade Runner 2049

Julian Slater (Baby Driver)

Matthew Wood (Star Wars: The Last Jedi)

Costume Design

Mark Bridges (Phantom Thread)

Consolata Boyle (Victoria and Abdul)

Luis Sequeira (The Shape of Water)

Jacqueline Durran (Beauty and the Beast)

Jacqueline Durran (Darkest Hour)


Roger Deakins (Blade Runner 2049)

Bruno Delbonnel (Darkest Hour)

Dan Laustsen (The Shape of Water)

Rachel Morrison (Mudbound)

Hoyte Van Hoytema (Dunkirk)

Production Design

Sarah Greenwood (Beauty and the Beast)

Dennis Gassner (Blade Runner 2049)

Sarah Greenwood (Darkest Hour)

Nathan Crowley (Dunkirk)

Paul D. Austerberry (The Shape of Water)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s